journalofnothing

Journal of Nothing

In Uncategorized on December 29, 2010 at 5:42 am

I will be writing a final post soon to this blog as I will be turning fifty in a couple of weeks.  I could never have imagined the lessons I would have learned this past year, the ups and downs, the reconnection with people from a distant past, and the nice comments I’ve received on some of the posts.

I will start a new blog soon to replace this one where I will put into action the lessons I learned and what happens as I do that.

In the meantime, I went back to an earlier blog I did called The Journal of Nothing.  It is mostly words that inspire me from people who inspire me and I thought I would share that with you  The link is http://journalofnothing.wordpress.com/.  I encourage you to go read it.  There are not many posts and they are not very long, but rereading it reminded me of the things I knew before this year that carried me through the tough times in this, my fiftieth year.

Here are some samples:

Stay this Moment…

It’s the heartfelt passionate feeling that people have when life is achingly beautiful or funny or poignant, powerful you might say.  I think people universally yearn for that moment to stay.  There’s a play, Our Town by Thornton Wilder, in which the protagonist Emily dies and she begs to come back and she’s allowed to come back and she sees everyone sleepwalking through life.  It is unbearable to her and she says I want to go back, I want to go back up the hill.  Then she says good bye to a whole list of things…but they’re not great events or even great moments.  They’re the ordinary things of life.  I wanted my photography to be about taking up that thought, that life is cherishable, intense and fleeting.  Photography finds its place in our lives because it can take up that thought Stay this moment.  It’s the one thing that can take that up.

Photographer Sam Abel

“You love your children, but probably don’t let them in. Unless you listen, people are wizened in your presence; they become about a third of themselves. Unless you listen, you can’t know anybody. Oh, you will know facts and what is in the newspapers and all of history, perhaps, but you will not know one single person. You know, I have come to think listening is love, that’s what it really is.”

Brenda Euland–Tell Me More

Happy New Year

 

Leave a Reply

