journalofnothing

The Fire of Fierceness

In 1 on January 29, 2010 at 7:50 am

I am going to post this because I know this sentiment intimately, but will write about it more soon.  I am feeling this coming to the surface in me.  To return to my favorite quote of all time by Paul Valery “Seeing is to forget the name of the thing one sees.”  Right now I feel what Alice Walker said below, but cannot articulate the context….Some people need to look out for me in the near future….

“…we have to look into ourselves, know who we are, know what we believe in, what it is we want, and we have to connect with the fierceness….there is always a necessity for compassion, loving, kindness, praise….but also we have to kindle the fire of fierceness.  We need to understand the intense happiness, the intense joy of being in a just battle.”

Alice Walker

  1. Did Alice Walker write this in a book. I really like it.

    What do you mean when you say that Some people need to look out for me in the near future? Do you mean you?

Leave a Reply

