journalofnothing

me part 2

In 1 on January 2, 2010 at 7:25 am

As promised, here is a little bit about me.  I have a Ph. D. in sport psychology/education.  I went to the University of Virginia where some say I played basketball (though not everyone called it that).  Officially I majored in English, but unofficially I majored in staying eligible to play basketball.

The team I was on was very good, but I got known for sitting on the bench and being a good three point shooter before it was worth three points.

All of my work comes out of that experience.  I was a public failure so I have spent the years since learning about high level performance from high level performers.  I was on the faculty of the University of Virginia School of Medicine Faculty for fifteen years.  I also have been invited to regularly present at the Darden School of Business Administration in the Executive Education Power and Leadership program.

I have also spent 25 years interviewing over 500 world class performers and an equal number of people who had trouble sleeping at night because of one line I heard over and and over again:  I did everything I was supposed to do, but my life doesn’t feel the way I thought it would.  I am inspired by both groups of people.

I have consulted with world class performers from a variety of fields including some of the most successful companies in America.

But in my real life, I am simply curious about life.  I accidentally got into the field of high level performers and that accidentally led me to wonder what I was actually designed to be and do.  This blog is a combination of the two things.

I will share my journey and also share some of my past writings.

I have had an amazing 49 years.  Feel free to comment on the picture.  One of my favorites of me….and it is 30 years old.

Leave a Reply

