journalofnothing

Life is a Swimming Pool

In 1 on December 25, 2009 at 9:50 pm

One of the things I struggle most with is finding people to do playful things with.  I’ve been reminded of my own need to play a lot lately.  But here’s the thing for me.  Life is play.  We’re designed to do it.

But we’re also designed to protect ourselves.  We just don’t stay open enough to try new things and are too willing to take someone else’s word for what we should be afraid of.  In the movie Despereaux,  One of the elders tells Despereaux “There are so many wonderful things in life to be afraid of if you’d just learn how scary they are.”

But I now see life as a swimming pool.  We have baby pools so we can safely play in the water.  We have the shallow end so we can play and sink only so far if we get tired.  But life it seems to me happens in the deep end.

Let’s go for a swim….

With everything I’ve been through and witnessed lately, I guess I have concluded we do not need the baby pool or the shallow end.  Ever.  The lessons we learn there are not real and the safety they offer is a false one.  Too often it teaches us how scary the deep end is if looked at from the shallow end.  And we never experience it for ourselves.

I choose to swim and to learn in the deep end.  I choose to develop my skills there from now on where I will meet real fear instead of worry.  And in doing so will find true freedom from the “wonderful things” I am supposed to be afraid of.

  1. The Tale of Despereaux is a real gem isn’t it… so many great lessons wrapped up in such a Wonder-ful story. I just had a huge AHA! reading your words about life happening in the deep end.. embracing real fear instead of worry, and learning and discovering the realness of life, experience, and my self in the process… Reminds me that I already know how to swim, and when the waves get too big, I can always resort to floating for a while, doing the star… Thanks for sharing these words Doug. As always, the reflections they trigger are most welcomed. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

