journalofnothing

The Playground Principles

In Uncategorized on December 20, 2009 at 4:32 am

So I have already had an aha looking back at the past and seeing where I am today.

The words I will use will form a set of principles I will call The Playground Principles.

I grew up playing on a playground no matter where I lived.  There were always kids there and on any given day, we played football, basketball, baseball, dodgeball and whatever we could make up.  I thought this was the way life was supposed to be.  When I got older, I found this was harder to do.  No games just happened.  Everything was scheduled.  Play and Sports gave way to exercise and working out.  Not for me.

When I was in grad school, we had many classes about how to allow children to participate in sports, to not feel left out.  Not sure anyone has yet solved that problem, but in the end, I came away still believing that these principles simply allow what’s in us to come out.  A playground is wherever we play, no matter how old we are.  In true play, we hold ourselves accountable, but never allow ourselves to be judged.

The Principles are simple– Play, Promise, Work, Easy Speed, Smile, Beauty, Trust, Home,  etc. and I will follow these and remind myself of these as I progress through the year….

The picture above is from high school when I was involved in a program called DC tutors.  I would go to an elementary school in DC and tutor a little kid named Christopher.  He didn’t talk to me for weeks until one day I brought a basketball.  I promised if we did our work together, we would go play bball.  He lit up like a Xmas tree and he opened up to me.  As I traveled through DC playing in All Star games a year later, he was at every one of them with his dad…and that lit me up….

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

