journalofnothing

Easy Speed

In Uncategorized on December 20, 2009 at 3:04 am

When I was kid at the beach in the Outer Banks of NC, I was mesmerized by the way the pelicans surfed the waves, finding the subtle changes in the wind.  I always wondered how that felt and found some small experiences of it in sports and in my work.  They “felt” the wind and the water.  I was jealous.

But I learned the term Easy Speed from an Olympic Swimmer which he explained as going 100% of your speed with what felt like 80% effort…more than efficient–harmonious, free, inspiring.  He called it a dance.  I heard some form of that from people in all fields.

What I wonder about Easy Speed is how to find it again?  Easy Speed is the difference between having a job and doing work– doing what matters.  And the challenge is most people don’t understand it.

And what will happen if you make speed look easy or work look fun, people will say you are not trying hard enough. This in spite of the fact that the best of the best make things look easy and have a touch and feel for doing what matters when it matters most.

Leave a Reply

